Jayalalithaa To Stake Claim To Form Next Government In Tamil Nadu Today


CHENNAI: Newly elected members of the ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu elected party chief J Jayalalithaa as the leader of the AIADMK legislative party on Friday.

The Presidium Chief of the party Madhusudanan presented the letter to Ms Jayalalithaa at the party headquarters in Chennai, who would present it to the state Governor today staking claim to form the next government.

Ms Jayalalalithaa is expected to be sworn in as chief minister on Monday in Chennai.

Setting a record after 32 years, the ruling AIADMK won a second consecutive term in the just concluded polls. Earlier, only Ms Jayalalithaa’s mentor MG Ramachandran had won three consecutive terms.

The AIADMK won a simple majority winning 134 seats of the 232 seats for which elections were held. Elections to the remaining two constituencies Aravakurichi and Thanjavue will be held three weeks later following large scale complaints of bribing of voters.

68-year-old Jayalalithaa promised prohibition in phases, free power supply up to 100 units of electricity every month, besides waiver of student and farm loans.

The state had witnessed a six-cornered contest. Her arch rival DMK-Congress alliance won 98 seats, the strongest ever opposition in the state.