28th Convocation of Sathyabama Institute Of Science And Technology



Sathyabama has entered in its 32nd year of inception and has completed 18 years as Deemed to be University. The Deemed to be University maintains high standard in teaching, training, and Research. The continuous efforts by all the stake holders, students, parents, Industry and Alumni is making Sathyabama to achieve greater heights, every year. As result of this, Sathyabama is ranked one among the top 50 Universities in India for 4 consecutive years, NIRF, Government of India.

Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology held its 28th Convocation on 28th July, 2019 at the Institution Auditorium, with the blessings of Founder Chancellor Hon. Colonel Dr.Jeppiaar. This Convocation was presided by Hon. Chancellor Dr. Mariazeena Johnson, and President Dr. Marie Johnson.

Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), was the Chief Guest for the occasion. He awarded the degrees to the graduands, appreciated the gold medalists by distributing the merit certificates, gold medals and delivered the convocation address. In his address, he emphasized upon various factors by which student upbringing is significant for societal development. He praised founder chancellor’s vision of the Institute and appreciated tremendous efforts continued by the President and Chancellor in taking the institution forward.

சத்தியபாமா நிகர்நிலை பல்கலைக்கழகத்தில் 28-வது பட்டமளிப்பு விழா!

Mr. Sahsrabudhe further told reporters that the corrective measures taken in the last four years had started showing results.

Engineering curriculum lent itself to embed analytical, mathematical abilities and creativity that helped to develop a variety of skills but it was also necessary to ensure quality education to propel economic development.

“We have been striving to improve quality for the last four, five years and the results are visible,” he said.

Encouraging colleges to establish start-ups with funds from the Department of Science and Technology and Niti Aayog and introducing experiential learning through internship had infused change in engineering education, he said.

The examination now limited questions based on rote learning to 30%. The rest tested the students’ ability to analyse a problem, synthesise it and creatively provide solutions to real-time problems, Mr. Sahasrabudhe said. India’s position in the global innovation index had improved in the last five years due to these initiatives.

“We were placed 81 five years ago, but today we’ve been ranked 52. In the next five years we will be in the top 20 and in the next 10 years we will be among the top 10 in terms of innovation,” he said. In the coming years, India would be second only to the United States in terms of start-ups. The country has the third largest ecosystem in the world currently, he said.

“They are the ones that will create jobs. There will be reduction in manpower as artificial intelligence, deep learning and robotics will reduce necessity. Small entrepreneurial activities and start-ups will create jobs,” Mr. Sahasrabudhe said.

In this memorable ceremony, Shri. Madhavan Nair Rajeevan,Secretary, Ministry of Earth Science (MoES), Shri.R. Umamaheswaran, Outstanding Scientist & Scientific Secretary, ISRO, Padma Shri S. Arunan, Director,Directorate of Special Projects, Mars Orbiter Mission ( MOM), ISRO, Shri. S. Unnikrishnan Nair, Director, Human Space Flight Programme, ISRO, were awarded the honorary doctorate for their valuable contribution for the progress of our society and thereby our nation.

A total of 3029 graduants received the Degree, i.e., year 2544 Undergraduates, 401 Postgraduates and 84 Undergraduates belong to department of Dental Surgery and 112 Ph.D scholars received their degrees. Among them 20 students are awarded with gold medals for their exemplary performance in academics. This year the Colonel Dr. Jeppiaar Research Excellence award was received by Dr. Tipole Pralhad Jaysing, from School of Mechanical Engineering for his outstanding research accomplishments.

The Institute also celebrated its success with placement of 1563 (92.07 %) students from various disciplines of Engineering, Architecture, Dental, Management, Arts & Science in the academic year 2018-19 for both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. Every year an amount of Rs.50,00,000/- is sponsored towards Dr. JEPPIAAR REMIBAI MERIT SCHOLARSHIP for meritorious students. Outgoing excellence award was given to 64 students of various Departments. All the graduands were appreciated by the Management and Staff of the Institution.

On this occasion the academic report was presented by Dr.S.Sundar Manoharan, Vice Chancellor. Dr.T Sasipraba, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Dr.B.Sheela Rani, Director (Research), Dr.S.S.Rau, Registrar, Dr. Igni Sabasti Prabhu, Controller of Examination, Dr.E.Logashanmugam, Director-Administration, Dr.G.Sundari, Dean-Student Affairs were present in this convocation.